Get an Ignition Interlock License
A first time ignition interlock license is $113.00.
A customer renewing his or her ignition interlock driver’s license must present a
copy of the current contract with the ignition interlock provider and evidence of
insurance showing that the individual is a covered driver of the vehicle.
A receipt from the ignition interlock provider is not sufficient. A copy of the actual ignition
interlock provider contract must be provided. That interlock provider contract must:
be in effect and current on the date that the ignition interlock license is renewed; and must be complete, including both the vehicle identification number (VIN) and the signature of the interlock provider.
It is not necessary that the current contract extend through the license renewal period, only that it be current when the license is renewed.
Evidence of insurance must be in the form of an original insurance company document (not
a photocopy) that clearly identifies the driver as an insured driver of the same vehicle that is covered by the ignition interlock contract.
Ignition Interlock Approved Providers < DWI Schools
How to Have Your Driver License Reinstated LICENSE REVOCATION PERIODS FOR DWI- IMPLIED CONSENT AND DWI CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS
As part the privilege of driving in New Mexico, you agree to comply with the Implied Consent Act. This Act requires you to submit to a chemical test if stopped by an officer who has reasonable grounds to believe you are driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs.
In New Mexico, the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) at which you presumed impaired is:
- 0.08% for drivers 21 and over
- 0.02% for those drivers under 21; and
- 0.04% for drivers who hold a commercial driver license and are operating a commercial vehicle.
Your driver’s license can be revoked for both a violation of the Implied Consent Act and a DWI conviction through a criminal court. The revocation periods are as follows:
Implied Consent* – over 21 years of age (at or above 0.08%)
- 1st Offense – 6 months for failing a chemical test
- 1st Offense – One year for refusing a chemical test
- 2nd or Subsequent Offense – One year for failing or refusing a chemical test
Implied Consent* – under 21 years of age (at or above 0.02%)
- 1st and subsequent – One year for failing or refusing a chemical test
Criminal Conviction of DWI in Court
- 1st Offense – One Year
- 2nd Offense – Two Years
- 3rd Offense – Three Years
- 4th or Subsequent Offense – Lifetime
Criminal Conviction of DWI in Court (Commercial Driver License while operating a Commercial Vehicle at or above 0.04%)
- 1st Offense – One year disqualification
- 2nd Offense – Lifetime disqualification
The revocation period for both Implied Consent and Criminal Conviction will not exceed a combined period of more than:
- One year for one DWI
- Two years for two DWIs
- Three years for three DWIs
- Lifetime for a 4th or subsequent DWI