HOW TO GET YOUR FIRST NEW MEXICO DRIVER LICENSE – AGES 18-24
The New Mexico MVD issues a secure driver license to help protect New Mexicans from identity theft. Persons applying for a first-time driver license, an out-of-state driver license, a license renewal or a license replacement are issued a temporary license while their regular license is being processed and mailed.
If you have an out-of state license or a New Mexico ID card, it will be hole-punched, and may be used in conjunction with the temporary license, for up to 45 days from the date of issue. The temporary license and the hole-punched license are only valid for identification purposes when presented together.
You must go into a MVD Field Office to get your New Mexico driver license. Staff at any Field Office can issue your temporary driver license.
New Drivers – Ages 18 to 24
If you are applying for your first New Mexico driver license and are aged 18 to 24, you must complete the None for the Road self-study DWI awareness class. The University of New Mexico Continuing Education Center administers the None for the Road class.
Get None for the Road Information and an application on-line or Call for None for the Road information at: 505-277-0051 or toll-free at 1-877- 663-7465.
Office hours: Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
None for the Road brochures and applications are also available at any MVD Field Office.
First-Time New Mexico Driver License Requirements
Once you have established residency in New Mexico, you are required to surrender your license from any other state and apply for a New Mexico license.
To get a non-commercial driver license, you will need to bring the following documents to any MVD Field Office:
One (1) proof of identification number, and
One (1) proof of identity, and
Two (2) proofs or New Mexico residency.
If you are not eligible for a social security number, you will need to bring the following documents to any MVD Field Office:
- One (1) proof of Identification number - No SSN, and
- One (1) proof of identity - No SSN, and
- Two (2) proofs of New Mexico residency
At least one of the ‘proof of identity’ or ‘proof of identification number’ documents must also show your date of birth.
You will also be required to take the following tests:
Eye Test – Persons with a current driver license from another state or country, or those applying for a first-time New Mexico driver license, are required to pass an eye exam.
Written Test – Persons applying for a first-time New Mexico driver license, or those with licenses expired for one year or more, must pass the required written test(s). This test is not required if you have a current out-of-state driver license. Persons with a current out-of –country license are required to take the written test.
Road Test – Persons applying for a first-time New Mexico driver license, or those with licenses expired over five years, must pass the required road test(s). This test is not required if you have a current out-of-state driver license.
A license will not be issued if your driving privileges are suspended, revoked or denied by this state or any other state. You must first resolve the suspension or revocation of your license.
Fees for a New Mexico Driver License
The fee is $18.00 for a four-year license or $34.00 for an eight-year license.
State law now requires a DWI records check on all drivers moving to New Mexico from out-of-state. To pay for the records check, those drivers are charged an additional one-time $15.00 fee, increasing their total to $33.00 for a four-year license or $49.00 for an eight-year license.