Chapter 15, Section B:
Motor Homes

Revised May 10, 2012


Vehicle Identification Number

The primary VIN of a motor home is the chassis. The secondary VIN is the body of the vehicle. Both are needed to title a motor home.

Title and Registration Requirements for a New Motor Home

  1. Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO)
    Note: Weight certificate required if MCO does not indicate the empty weight of the motorized home.
  2. Dealer’s Invoice
  3. Odometer Mileage Statement
  4. Affirmation of Insurance Insurance
  5. Proof of Trade-In (as needed)
  6. Power of Attorney (POA) (as needed)
  7. Lien holder information (as needed)
  8. Identification
  9. Proof of New Mexico Residence (except for non-residents taking delivery in New Mexico, see Chapter 14A)
  10. Registered owner on Title Application must appear as shown on assignment.
  11. Motorized home must be titled and registered within 30 days of purchase to avoid late registration penalties.

Title and Registration Requirements for a Used Motor Home

  1. Certificate of Title (Current)
    Note: Weight certificate required if Title does not indicate the empty weight of the motorized home.
  2. Bill of Sale
  3. Dealer’s Invoice (When motorized home purchased from a dealer).
  4. VIN Inspection - primary and secondary VINs required
  5. NCIC check
  6. Proof of Trade-in (as needed).
  7. Release of Lien (As needed).
  8. Proof of New Mexico Residence (except for non-residents taking delivery in New Mexico, see Chapter 14A)
  9. Identification
  10. Power Of Attorney (POA) (as needed).
  11. Lien Holder Information (As needed).
  12. Motorized home must be titled and registered within 30 days of purchase to avoid late registration penalties.


Motor Home Registration Fees

Motor Home Registration Fees re determined by the Declared Gross Vehicle Weight (DGVW) and are the same as truck registration fees.