Chapter 6, Section B
Military/Law Enforcement Registration Fee Reductions



Revised
October 5, 2011



For the plates numbered from 1 through 6 below, the applicant must complete Form MVD-10353 “Application for Military Services Special Plate.” Applicant must indicate the type of special plate for which he is applying and send the application to the Vehicle Services Bureau. The application will be forwarded to the Veteran’s Service Commission for eligibility certification.

All qualified applicants who are eligible for any exemption must apply for the exemption, upon Application for Title or Transfer of Plate.

NO REFUNDS WILL BE GRANTED IF THE OWNER FAILS TO APPLY FOR THE EXEMPTION AT TIME OF INITIAL TRANSACTION.

There are nine types of military/law enforcement fee reductions allowed by statute in registering and titling a vehicle in New Mexico. They are:

1. New Mexico Veterans

A New Mexico veteran who possesses a Certificate of Eligibility from the New Mexico Veteran’s Service Commission is entitled to a one-third (1/3) reduction of the registration fee of a “motorized vehicle”. The reduction is not allowed when registering trailers. It is not a reduction of taxes, only registration fees. When allowing reduction, clerk must verify that the entire exemption allowed has not been used on applicant’s Real Property. Verification may be obtained from the County Treasurer’s Office where the applicant resides or where property is owned.

Veterans who applied for the $4,000 property exemption in 1982 were granted an automatic annual exemption. Those certificates presented to you with a $4,000 property tax exemption dated 1982, or a later date, should be rejected unless the County treasurer notifies you that those applicants have not been granted the exemption for the year. The County Treasurer must also verify that an exemption has not been granted on all Duplicate Certificates of Eligibility.

2. New Mexico Veteran Amputees

A Veteran, who qualifies through New Mexico Veteran’s Service Commission, is entitled to the issuance of a free registration plate, on one vehicle, owned by the Veteran. For the purpose of determining eligibility, the veteran must contact the New Mexico Veteran’s Service Commission, Bataan Memorial Building, and Santa Fe, New Mexico 87503. The registration and excise taxes are waived and only the title fee is charged when processing title transfers.

3. Ex-Prisoner Of War (Ex-POW) Plate

A Veteran certified through the Veteran’s Service Commission is entitled to one free registration per year for one vehicle owned by that veteran. Only the registration fee is waived, the excise tax and title fee must be paid when processing title transfers.

4. 100% Disabled Veteran (DV) Plate

This type of license plate is issued to Veterans who have a 100% service connected disability. A New Mexico Veteran who qualifies through the Veteran’s Service Commission is entitled to free registration each year for TWO vehicles owned by that veteran. Only the registration fee is waived, the excise tax and title fee must be paid when processing title transfers.

NOTE: A Disabled Veteran (“DV”) plate does not authorize recipient to park in a handicap-parking zone.

5. Medal of Honor Plate

A Veteran certified through the Veteran’s Service Commission who is a recipient of the Medal of Honor is entitled to the issuance of one special plate. Only the registration fee is waived, the excise tax and title fee must be paid when processing title transfers.

6. Purple Heart Plate

A Veteran who is a recipient of the Purple Heart Medal, upon submission of Department of Defense Form 214 (DD214), is entitled to the issuance of TWO special plates. The Veteran’s Service Commission must certify the application for every “Purple Heart” plate issued by the division. Only the registration fee is waived, the excise tax and title fee must be paid when processing title transfers.

7. National Guard Plate

National Guard members, who have been certified by the New Mexico National Guard, are eligible for one free registration per year on a vehicle owned by that member. Upon Application for Title, guard member pays excise tax, transfer fee and administrative fee. When assigning National Guard Plate to newly acquired vehicle or transferring to vehicle already owned by applicant, you must verify that the applicant is still an active member of the National Guard. You may contact the New Mexico National Guard at (505) 474-1200. When reassigning National Guard plate from one vehicle to another a replacement registration certificate is issued for a fee of $3.50.

8. New Mexico Ranger

A New Mexico Rangers member, who has been certified by the New Mexico Rangers, is eligible for one free registration per year on one vehicle owned by that member. The Certificate of registration and sticker are sent directly to the address on record. In situations where the individual does not receive Certificate of registration and sticker, refer them to Special Plate Section.

9. Mounted Patrol

A Mounted Patrol member, who has been certified by the New Mexico Mounted Patrol, is eligible for one free “Certificate of Registration” and sticker which are sent directly to their address on record. If individual does not receive the Certificate of Registration and sticker, refer them to Special Plate Section.