Call Us Email Map Contact Us
Search Button

Register a New Vehicle

MVD Forms are available online, or at any MVD Field Office.

Registering a New Vehicle for the First Time

The first time you register a new vehicle, you must come into a MVD Field Office.

How to Register a New Vehicle
How to Register a Used Vehicle
How to Renew a Vehicle Registration

Documents to Bring to the MVD Field Office to Register a New Vehicle

  • Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO) – The original MCO, not a copy.
  • Dealer’s Invoice – The original invoice or a certified copy of the invoice.
  • Odometer Statement – One of the following:
    • Odometer mileage statement on the back of the MCO
    • Odometer Mileage Statement | MVD Form 10187 | Download PDF
    • Application for Title and Registration | MVD Form 10002 | Download PDF

Proof of Insurance - In New Mexico, drivers must operate their motor vehicles with a minimum of liability auto insurance. Minimum auto liability insurance amounts required in New Mexico are:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person,
  • $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons, and
  • $10,000 for property damage in any one accident.

Bring any of the following forms of proof of insurance to MVD when registering your vehicle:

Fees for Registering a Vehicle

The registration fee for passenger vehicles is based on the weight and model year of the vehicle. Registration fees range from $27.00 to $62.00 for a one (1) year registration or $54.00 to $124.00 for a two (2) year registration.

Registration fees for trucks with a declared gross vehicle weight (DGVW) of 26,000 pounds or less are also based on the weight and model year of the vehicle. Registration fees range from $38.00 to $207.00 for a one (1) year registration or $76.00 to $414.00 for a two (2) year registration.

Title and Registration of New Trailers - Requirements

  1. Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO)
  2. Note: Weight certificate required if MCO does not indicate the empty weight of the trailer.
  3. Dealer’s Invoice
  4. Proof of Trade-In (as needed)
  5. Power of Attorney (POA) (as needed)
  6. Lien Holder Information (as needed)
  7. Identification
  8. Proof of Residence
  9. Trailer must be titled and registered within 30 Days of Purchase to avoid late registration penalties.

Special Conditions

Emission Certificate of Inspection – Only required for Bernalillo County residents. More information available online.

Proof of Trade-In Vehicle – Only required if a vehicle was traded-in on the new vehicle. Bring one of the following:

  • A copy of the trade-in vehicle Certificate of Title
  • A copy of the trade-in vehicle Certificate of Registration

Power of Attorney – Only required if someone other than the person whose name will go on the title and registration is registering the vehicle for that person.

When You Move to New Mexico From Another State

VIN Inspection – Only required for vehicles coming to New Mexico from another state. The vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection is usually done by a MVD agent at a MVD Field Office. However, not all Field Offices perform VIN inspections, and some require an advance appointment. Call your local MVD Field Office to inquire about VIN inspection availability and scheduling.

You can get a VIN inspection conducted by a Certified VIN Inspector. A list of Certified VIN Inspectors is available here.

Register a Used Vehicle

MVD Forms are available online, or at any MVD Field Office.

Registering a Used Vehicle for the First Time

The first time you register a used vehicle in your name, you must come into a MVD Field Office.

Documents to Bring to the MVD Field Office to Register a Used Vehicle

Certificate of Title – The current outstanding Certificate of Title for the vehicle, with the Assignment of Title section completed on the reverse side, and signed by the former owner of the vehicle. No copies are accepted.

Odometer Statement – The seller and the buyer must sign a document that shows that they agree on the odometer mileage reading at the time of the sale. Any one of the following documents can be used for this purpose:

  • Complete the Assignment of Title section on the back of the Certificate of Title Bill of Sale | MVD Form 10009 | Download PDF
  • Odometer Disclosure Statement | MVD Form 10187 | Download PDF
  • Application for Vehicle Title and Registration | MVD Form 10002 | Download PDF

Proof of Insurance - In New Mexico, drivers are expected to operate their motor vehicles with a minimum of liability auto insurance. Minimum auto liability insurance amounts required in New Mexico are:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person,
  • $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons, and
  • $10,000 for property damage in any one accident.

Bring any of the following forms of proof of insurance to MVD when registering your vehicle:

Fees for Registering a Vehicle

The registration fee for passenger vehicles is based on the weight and model year of the vehicle. Registration fees range from $27.00 to $62.00 for a one (1) year registration or $54.00 to $124.00 for a two (2) year registration.

Registration fees for trucks with a declared gross vehicle weight (DGVW) of 26,000 pounds or less are also based on the weight and model year of the vehicle. Registration fees range from $38.00 to $207.00 for a one (1) year registration or $76.00 to $414.00 for a two (2) year registration.

Special Conditions

Emission Certificate of Inspection – Only for Bernalillo County residents. More information available online.

Proof of Trade-In Vehicle – Only required if a vehicle was traded-in on the used vehicle. Bring one of the following:

  • A copy of the trade - in vehicle Certificate of Title
  • A copy of the trade - in Certificate of Registration

Bill of Sale – Only required when Assignment of Title or Dealer Assignment is not on back of the Title.  All information on the Bill of Sale must be filled in, and have signatures of both the seller and the buyer.

On transfers between individuals, when the Assignment of Title on the back of the Certificate of Title is incomplete, use a - Bill of Sale | MVD Form 10009 | Download PDF

Affidavit of Gift of Motor Vehicle or Boat – Only required when the transfer of the vehicle or boat is a gift. Both the donor and the recipient must sign the Affidavit of Gift of Motor Vehicle or Boat and have their signatures notarized. MVD Form 10018 | Download PDF

Dealer’s Invoice – Only required when the title transaction involves a dealer sale.  The dealer’s invoice must be the original or a certified copy.

Lien holder Information – Only required when there is a lien holder on the vehicle.

Release of Lien – Only if the current outstanding Certificate of Title shows there is a lien on the vehicle, the lien must be properly released. If the lien holder is a bank, financial institution, credit union, or other company, the person releasing the lien must indicate their ‘position’ with the company (agent, president, title clerk, etc.).

The lien can be released by having the lien holder do any one of the following:

  • Sign the ‘Release of Lien’ section of the current outstanding Certificate of Title (bottom of the front of the title).
  • Complete and sign a Release of Lien. Release of Lien - MVD Form 10041 | Download PDF
  • Provide you with a notarized release of lien on company letterhead, signed by the lien holder.

Power of Attorney – Only required if someone other than the person whose name will go on the title and registration is registering the vehicle for that person.

Title and Registration of Used Trailers - Requirements

  1. Certificate of Title
  2. Note: Weight certificate required if Title does not indicate the empty weight of the trailer.
  3. Bill of Sale
  4. Dealer’s Invoice (when trailer purchased from a dealer)
  5. VIN Inspection
  6. NCIC check
  7. Proof of Trade-in (as needed)
  8. Release of Lien (as needed)
  9. Proof of Residence
  10. Identification
  11. Power Of Attorney (POA) (as needed)
  12. Lien holder Information (as needed) Trailer must be titled and registered within 30 days of purchase to avoid late transfer fee and late registration penalties.

When You Move to New Mexico From Another State

VIN Inspection Only for vehicles coming to New Mexico from another state. The vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection is usually done by a MVD agent at a MVD Field Office. However, not all Field Offices perform VIN inspections, and some require an advance appointment. Call your local MVD Field Office to inquire about VIN inspection availability and scheduling.

You can get a VIN inspection conducted by a Certified VIN Inspector. A list of Certified VIN Inspectors is available here.

Latest News:

Locate an MVD Office

Find a MVD Service Provider Near You

MVD Home          Site Map          Privacy & Security          Site Policies          Accessibility          About Us          Contact Us

Governor Susana Martinez

New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division Facebook Page


Call Email Map Contact