The only equipment you need is a computer with an Internet connection and a laser printer.
VRS is an online application, so you will need an Internet browser such as Internet Explorer or Firefox to use VRS, and Adobe Reader to view and the print the temp tags. Adobe Reader can be downloaded for free at http://get.adobe.com/reader/.
Temporary tags are printed on regular 8½" x 11" paper.
Using VRS on the Internet is the easiest, most cost-efficient way to issue temp tags. However, for an additional fee, you can contact the VRS Call Center to complete your temp tag by phone and have it faxed to you.
The fees vary by permit type, and can be passed on to your customer as a dealer transfer service charge. Inventory control numbers (ICN) are used when issuing a temporary, transport, transit, or demonstration permit; auto dealers and title services companies will be charged a $1.00 fee for each inventory control number. The ICN fees are paid to the Auto Dealers Associations through the Vehicle Registration Suite. The inventory control number and permit fees for all users are listed below:
|AutoDealers & TSC||Inventory Control Number Fee||Permit Fee|
|Transport Permit - Internet||$1.00||$5.00|
|Demo Permit - Internet||$1.00||$1.00|
|Transit Permit - Internet||$1.00||$10.00 - $30.00|
|Temporary or Transport Permit - Fax||$1.00||$9.00|
|Demo Permit - Fax||$1.00||$5.00|
|Transit Permit - Fax||$1.00||$14.00 - $34.00|
|PRAs & STSCs||Inventory Control Number Fee||Permit Fee|
|Temporary or Transport Permit - Internet||$.00||$6.00|
|Demo Permit - Internet||$.00||$2.00|
|Transit Permit - Internet||$.00||$11.00 - $31.00|
|Temporary or Transport Permit - Fax||$.00||$10.00|
|Demo Permit - Fax||$.00||$6.00|
|Transit Permit - Fax||$.00||$15.00 - $35.00|
|MVD Field Offices & Municipalities||Inventory Control Number Fee||Permit Fee|
|Temporary Permit - Internet||$.00||$7.00|
|Transit Permit - Internet||$.00||$12.00 - $32.00|
|Temporary Permit - Fax||$.00||$11.00|
|Transit Permit - Fax||$.00||$16.00 - $36.00|
Yes. Starting January 1, 2013, VRS will be the only way to issue demo, temp, transport, and transit tags in New Mexico. Regardless of the issue date, all handwritten tags MUST expire on December 31, 2012. Any vehicle displaying a handwritten tag on or after January 1, 2013 will be subject to law enforcement action. Additionally, a process in VRS will be activated that will allow emergency temp tags to be issued if VRS is unavailable.
Emergency temp tags were created in response to concerns dealers expressed about sales being negatively affected if VRS isn't available. Your business does not have to be negatively impacted if VRS is unavailable. The emergency permit is STRICTLY for emergencies and once issued is valid for only 72 hours. IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO ISSUE A PROPER PERMIT IMMEDIATELY ONCE VRS IS AVAILABLE.
- Register your business by completing the appropriate form under How do I register my business?
- Each user at your business needs to create their own VRS user account. See How do I create a VRS user account?
Download, complete, and mail the Vehicle Registration Suite Account Holder Agreement and Access Request form appropriate for your business type.
New Mexico Interactive
Attention: Subscriber Services
1221 Flagman Way, Suite B4
Santa Fe, NM 87505
- Create a login account. All VRS users must create a TRD Online Account at https://secure.mvd.newmexico.gov/Accounts/Login.aspx.
- Activate your account. Once you have successfully submitted your account information, you will receive a confirmation email from TRD Online that contains a link to activate your account. You will not be able to log in to VRS until you activate your account.
- Request access from your VRS administrator. You will not be able to issue temp tags until your VRS admin grants you access.
VRS is an intuitive application and requires little or no training. There are online user manuals and video tutorials that you can access at any time from the VRS main menu under Training Resources. Training sessions are offered periodically; for a schedule of upcoming sessions, click the Training button at the top of this page. Contact your dealer association for other training options.
My business has multiple locations. Do I have to submit a separate registration agreement for each location?
No, you only need to submit one registration agreement, but you must list all of your locations/sub-lots in Section 4: Additional Locations of the agreement.
If you are an auto dealer or title service company, please contact your Auto Dealers Association to receive a credit in VRS. If you are a super title service company, please contact the MVD Dealer Licensing Bureau.