
STATE OF NEW MEXICO )
 ) ss.
COUNTY OF ___________________________ )

 I, _____________________________________________, being first duly sworn, state upon oath:

 1. I am _______ years of age. My date of birth is ______________________________.

 2. I have applied for an ignition interlock license.

 3. I acknowledge that any vehicle I operate must be equipped with an ignition interlock device.

 4. I acknowledge that if I drive a vehicle without an ignition interlock device I am subject to the 
  provisions for driving with a revoked license. Those sanctions include, but are not limited to:

  a. a minimum of seven consecutive days in jail up to 364 days in jail;

  b. fine of up to $1,000.00;

  c. immobilization of the motor vehicle;

  d. additional license revocation action.

 5. I acknowledge that I must maintain the ignition interlock device, including:

  a. keeping the maintenance records up-to-date;

  b. having the required service and calibration done;

  c. having the log book of the maintenance records in the motor vehicle;

  d. having the ignition interlock device and license for a minimum of six (6) consecutive months 
   with no break in driving status.

 6. I acknowledge that I will provide the maintenance records upon request.

AFFIDAVIT OF

New Mexico Taxation & Revenue Department - Motor Vehicle DivisionMVD - 10456 
REV.    10/15

(Printed Name of Applicant)

 _________________________________________________________________

 My Commission Expires __________________________

Acknowledgement: On the ___________ day of __________________________ (month) of __________, the above named person,
either personally known to me or identified through satisfactory evidence, appeared to me and indicated that he/she signed the
foregoing document voluntarily for the purposes herein.

State of New Mexico

County of  ______________________________

 ___________________________________________    ____________________________________________________    ________________
  DateApplicant Full Name Printed/Typed Applicant Signature

Signature of Notarial Official

Place Notary Seal or Stamp Here

mm/dd/yyyy

AFFIDAVIT FOR IGNITION INTERLOCK LICENSE

THE FOLLOWING PAGES CONTAIN FREQUENTLY ASKED DWI QUESTIONS
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The most common misconception is that the criminal and civil actions are the same. Every DWI has two sides: 
the civil side, which is the Motor Vehicle Division administrative action and the criminal conviction which is 
through the courts.

In our administrative hearing, the law enforcement officer has only four points to prove:

 1. that the law enforcement officer had reasonable grounds to believe the driver was driving a motor   
  vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor;
 2.  whether the person was arrested;
 3.  whether the administrative hearing was held no later than 90 days after the notice of revocation; 
  and that
 4.  either: a) the person refused to submit to the test upon request of the law enforcement officer; or 
  b) a chemical test was administered and the test results indicated an alcohol concentration of .08 
  or more for a person 21 years of age or older, .04 or more if the person is a Commercial Driver   
  License holder or .02 or more if the person is less than 21 years of age.

By statute (Sections 66-8-107 through 66-8-112 and 66-5-29 NMSA 1978), all of this information is available 
for review.

How long is the DWI license revocation period?

Effective June 17, 2005:

Implied Consent

•	 Adult Refusal – One year
•	 Adult 1st Offense – Six months
•	 Adult 2nd and Subsequent Offense – One year
•	 Juvenile – One year

Criminal

•	 1st Offense – One year
•	 2nd Offense – Two years
•	 3rd Offense – Three years
•	 4th and Subsequent Offense – Lifetime

What do I need to do to reinstate my driver’s license once my revocation period is over?

Per New Mexico state statute 66-5-33.1 B 4 NMSA 1978, the driver must have “a minimum of six months of 
driving with an ignition interlock license with no attempts to circumvent or tamper with the ignition interlock 
device”. The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division interprets this to mean a consecutive six months with no 
break in service or license status. After the interlock license is issued, if a failure to appear in court violation, 
a parental responsibility violation, an unpaid citation violation or any other offense that would invalidate the 
driving privileges is placed on the driving record, the six month period would restart again on the date the 
driving privileges are restored.



You will need to provide proof of your identity, pay a $102 reinstatement fee, and take the written and road 
exams, if you have been revoked for more than a five year period.

If you were under a five-year or a 10-year denial period, you must petition a district court in your county 
of residence to restore your driving privileges. A Restoration Packet will be provided by any local MVD 
office along with a copy of your driving history. Exception: Per PQU#22 MVD field offices may not provide 
restoration packets to residents of Bernalillo County. The Bernalillo County restoration packet is available 
only from the Second Judicial District Court at 400 Lomas NW in Albuquerque.

If you are under a current lifetime revocation, you are eligible to apply to a district court for removal of the 
ignition interlock device requirement and restoration of the license five years from the date of conviction and 
every five years thereafter.

Anyone on revocation for a DWI offense is eligible to apply for and receive an Ignition Interlock License 
upon providing proof of insurance and the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device in any car the 
individual drives.

What happens if I downgrade to an ID from an Interlock License?

You will lose the time already accrued on the interlock license and interlock device and will be required to 
start the consecutive six month period again once you have upgraded back to an interlock license.

What if I want to dispute the DWI citation because I believe someone else used my identity information?

Only the court or the law enforcement officer who wrote the citation can recall or dismiss a citation for 
identity theft. A letter written on department letterhead will need to be provided indicating the name, social 
security number, date of birth, license number, and citation number and the reason for the dismissal. In 
addition, provide the name and information on the correct offender, if available.

Is there a way that I can get a copy of my DWI citations, because I believe that the number of convictions on 
my record is incorrect?

Yes. You can mail a letter indicating that you would like a document review, with your personal information, 
to New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division, P.O. Box 1028, Santa Fe, NM 87504-1028 Attn: Document Review. 
There is no fee for this request.

This is my third offense, but when I went to court the judge reduced it to my second offense. Why am I still 
under revocation for a three-year period?

The Motor Vehicle Division does not consider a reduction in offense by the court when a revocation period is 
determined. MVD looks at the number of convictions on your record and adjusts the revocation period based 
on the new conviction.

The Judge said that he would defer the DWI and dismiss it once I completed a predetermined probationary 
period. Why is the DWI still on my record, and why am I revoked?

In the State of New Mexico, a Judge cannot defer to dismiss a DWI once the driver enters a plea of guilty 
or nolo contendere, or if there is a finding of guilt by the court. By statute (Section 66-1-4.3(N) (A) NMSA 
1978) a DWI conviction means “a finding of guilty in a trail court” (Section 66-1-4.3 (N) (B) NMSA 1978) a 
DWI conviction means “a plea of guilty or nolo contendere accepted by the court”. Conviction was so defined 
specifically to prevent a dismissal (subsequent to a deferred sentence) from erasing a DWI.



Do I still have to pay a reinstatement fee if I’ve moved out of New Mexico or I am no longer a resident?

Yes. The fee is assessed as part of the fine for a DWI citation, and is required to completely clear the driver's 
record after a revocation period has expired. Along with the fee, proof of residency is required.

If I paid fines through the court, why do I have to pay MVD?

The criminal and civil actions are completely different. Some fines are associated with conviction actions, and 
other fines are associated with Implied Consent/Administrative actions.

I reinstated after the administrative action, but before the criminal conviction was posted to my record. Can I 
get a refund for the $102?

No. You must wait until you are eligible to reinstate, and then apply for your driver’s license again and pay 
the reinstatement fee. The clerk at the field office cannot see future dates or postings, and can only see what 
is posted to the record. If the conviction has not been sent by the court, it will not be available on the driving 
history until it is received and recorded.

How do I request a MVD administrative hearing for the revocation based on my arrest?

A Request for Hearing form (MVD-10792) is available from any MVD office and on the Internet - or 
you may simply submit a letter requesting a hearing. Include a copy of the citation or notice of revocation; 
information such as the driver’s name, date of birth and social security number; and (unless you can provide a 
letter of indigence) a $25 check or money order. Indicate that you are contesting the administrative revocation 
of your license. This request must be postmarked or hand delivered to MVD's Central Administration office 
in the Joseph M. Montoya Building at 1100 South St. Francis Drive in Santa Fe, NM within 10 days of being 
served the Notice of Revocation. If the request for hearing is not complete, you will receive a denial letter. 
You may appeal the denial of a request for hearing to a district court.

Can I drive while I am awaiting the administrative hearing?

Yes. Unless you have any other conditions of suspension on your driving record, you will have driving 
privileges pending the outcome of the hearing.

How long does a DWI stay on my record?

A DWI will stay on the driving record according to the date the citation was issued:

A DWI issued on:   Will remain on the driver’s record for:

•	 1953 through June 30, 1961  5 years
•	 July 1, 1961 through June 30, 1969  Lifetime
•	 July 1, 1961 through June 30, 1975  5 years
•	 July 1, 1975 through June 30, 1990  Lifetime
•	 July 1, 1990 through June 16, 2005  25 years
•	 June 17, 2005 through present  55 years

Any additional questions please contact the DWI Compliance Unit at the following numbers:

  505-476-3173 505-476-3446

  505-476-3608 505-476-3229
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