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MVD ending waivers on penalties, late fees 
 
The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division will end its waiver of penalties and late fees 
related to vehicle registration and titling at the close of business on Sept. 30, 2021. 
 
Late fees and penalties have been waived under an executive order issued early in the 
COVID-19 pandemic in the Spring of 2020. 
 
All MVD offices are open on an appointment-only basis and most have same-day or 
next-day availability. Appointments can be booked at mvdonline.com or by calling 888-
683-4636. 
 
Many transactions also can be done at mvdonline.com, including registration renewals. 
In the Albuquerque area, vehicle registrations also can be renewed at self-service kiosks 
located in the Albertson’s at Juan Tabo and Candelaria and the Albertson’s at San Mateo 
and Montgomery. 
 
Owners are subject to a $10 late fee if a vehicle is operated or transported after the 
registration has expired. That increases to 75% of the vehicle registration fee or $10, 
whichever is greater, if the registration has been expired for more than 30 days. 
 
A $20 late transfer fee is assessed if an application for title is not made within 30 
calendar days from the date of transfer. The penalty also applies to transfer of out-of-
state titles. 
 
Failure to apply for a certificate of title within 90 days of accepting transfer of a vehicle 
in New Mexico incurs a penalty of 50% of the Motor Vehicle Excise Tax. That effectively 
raises the excise tax from 4% to 6%. The penalty also applies if the owner accepts 
transfer of a vehicle outside of New Mexico and fails to apply for title within 90 days of 
bringing the vehicle into New Mexico.  
 
The Taxation and Revenue Department serves the State of New Mexico by providing fair 
and efficient tax and motor vehicle services 
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The Motor Vehicle Division strives to offer customers convenient channels to conduct 
their business. MVD regularly adds to services offered online and through convenient 
retail kiosks. 
  
Connect with us on LinkedIn, YouTube and Twitter @NM_MVD 
 

https://www.linkedin.com/in/taxation-and-revenue-new-mexico-b9b112204/
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/vfweC5yrZqiO6mopSziU6q?domain=youtube.com

