Renew a Driving Credential

All persons driving a motor vehicle on New Mexico highways and roadways are required to be licensed.

If you are renewing your current New Mexico driver’s license to obtain a REAL ID for the first time, please follow the requirements for Applying for a New Driver’s License-Click Here

If you are renewing or want to replace your REAL ID, DAC, or Standard license click here to do so online. 

Per statute, a license may be renewed within 90 days of its expiration. If an application for the license is made earlier than 90 days, a replacement will be issued. This replacement will be identical to the current license. If you have not lost or had your license stolen, it is recommended to wait until the 90 day timeframe has been reached before applying for a renewal. The system will show you that renewal date when going through the online license replacement/renewal transaction.