- Maps & Locations
- Location Events & Closings
- Contact Us
- MVD Procedure Manuals
- Online Services
- Vehicle Registration
- License Plates
- Emission Testing
- Boats & ATVs
- Vehicle Definitions
- Parking Placards
- Driver’s Licenses / ID’s
- REAL ID INFO
- Driving Credentials
- Apply for a Learner’s Permit
- Apply for a New Driving Credential
- Renew a Driving Credential
- Replace a Lost or Stolen Driving Credential
- Reinstate a Suspended License
- Where’s My License?
- List of Acceptable Documents for Real ID Issuance
- List of Acceptable Documents for Standard Driver’s License
- ID Cards
- Change Your Address
- DWI Information
- Drivers Forms
- Report Fraud
- Resources, Forms & Information
- Dealers / Recycle / Partners
- Record Request Services
Resources and Information
Can’t find what you’re looking for below?
Please Email NMCDL.HelpDesk@state.nm.us
08/06/2013 3:50 PM Size & Weight EnforcementPort LocationsFMCSA Safety & SecurityCommerical Vehicle Safety Alliance
When are escorts required?
08/06/2013 2:52 PM An escort is required for the movement of all widths exceeding 14 feet, and may be required for widths of less than 14 feet depending on the route. An escort is required for the movement of all loads that exceed 90 feet in length. Front and rear...
Can you fax me a New Mexico Tax Identification application?
08/06/2013 2:52 PM Yes, if you do not reach us at 505- 827- 0392, leave your voicemail request and fax number, and MVD Commercial Vehicle Bureau staff will fax you an application.
Who has to get a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity?
08/06/2013 2:51 PM For-hire intrastate motor carriers of passengers and household goods must obtain a Certificate of Public Convenience & Necessity from the NM Public Regulation Commission (NMPRC). Such motor carriers includes the following: Shuttle services Taxi...
How do I get a US Department of Transportation (DOT) number?
08/06/2013 2:51 PM Carriers can apply online for a US DOT number at http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/registration/getting-started
What is an Exempt Motor Carrier?
08/06/2013 2:50 PM Exempt motor carriers are carriers hauling farm and agricultural produce. Exempt products are raw materials that have not been processed and livestock. Intrastate exempt motor carriers must be registered for the Intrastate Warrant from the NM Public...
What is the ICC?
08/06/2013 2:41 PM The Interstate Commerce Commission (ICC) was phased out. Currently, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) issues operating authority for common or contract carriers that haul for hire. More information on FMCSA Registration and...
I’m carrying over 26,000 lbs. and Farm Plated. Why do I need a Tax Identification card if I don’t travel on New Mexico roads?
08/06/2013 2:40 PM You don’t need to register the farm truck as long as it never leaves the farm. However if you go to the local gas station you are traveling on taxable roads and must pay a Weight Distance tax. If you leave the farm, you are required by law to have...
I’m leasing a truck from Kansas. Can I register IRP in New Mexico?
08/06/2013 2:40 PM No, not if you leasing to purchase the vehicle. If a company based in Kansas is leasing to your company and you are adding that vehicle to your IRP account, you are allowed to register the vehicle without titling.
If I have a Farm Plate, can I go across state lines?
08/06/2013 2:39 PM Possibly, some IRP jurisdictions allow special plated vehicles to travel in their jurisdictions without paying registration fees. However, farm carriers must have a New Mexico Tax Identification Permit and an IFTA license and decals when traveling...
I just bought a truck. What is the heaviest I can carry?
08/06/2013 2:39 PM Refer to the weight rating indicated on your vehicle driver side door.
What is a Mill Rate?
08/06/2013 2:38 PM Mill rate is the cents- per- mile paid for the weight distance tax. The rate depends on the weight of the vehicle, and whether the vehicle is used for one- way hauling or two- way hauling (loaded both ways). Mill rates are listed on your quarterly...
I sold my truck and bought a new one. Can I transfer my cab cards?
08/06/2013 2:38 PM No, you may submit a New Mexico Apportioned Registration Application Schedule A & B specifying an even-exchange. Some states allow even-exchange credit for unused periods, however you will get new plates and credentials for your new vehicle....
How do I get an oversize/overweight permit?
08/06/2013 2:36 PM The oversize/ overweight permits are issued by the Department Of Public Safety.
Can I buy my way through at the Port of Entry? How much is it?
08/06/2013 2:36 PM Yes, if a carrier does not have the IRP Registration Cab Card listing New Mexico, or have a New Mexico Tax Identification Permit, the carrier is required to pay the following: 0 lbs. - 26,000 lbs. | seven cents per mile 26,001 lbs. - 54,000 lbs. |...
I haven’t titled my truck yet. Can I get a temporary title?
08/06/2013 2:35 PM No, temporary titles are not issued until the vehicle is titled and the MVD Commercial Vehicle Bureau receives the Interstate application.
What do I do if I lose my IFTA decals or IFTA License?
08/06/2013 2:31 PM Lost IFTA License: Submit a written request with the carrier account number. Lost IFTA Decals: Submit a written request with the carrier account number and a check for $3.50.
How do I cancel my account(s) with the State of New Mexico?
08/06/2013 2:30 PM New Mexico Tax Identification permit account: Holders are required to submit a letter with the carrier account number (MTD/TAX account number). All tax identification permits for the registration year must be returned to the Commercial Vehicle...
What do I do if I lose my cab card or license plate?
08/06/2013 2:27 PM For a lost IRP Registration cab card and sticker: Submit a written request with the account number, unit number, plus a check for $3.50. For a lost IRP plate (IR E0000, IR 0000 or IR 00000): Submit a written request with the account number, unit...
What is your address?
08/06/2013 2:26 PM MVD Commercial Vehicle Bureau 2546 Camino EntradaSanta Fe, NM 87507
What do I do if I need to change the name on my account?
08/06/2013 2:25 PM Submit a written request to the Commercial Vehicle Bureau of MVD with the carrier account number listing the OLD name and the NEW name. If the carrier wants new cab cards printed for IRP, submit $3.50 per IRP Cab Card and $2.00 for each Tax ID...
When I purchase a commercial vehicle from a dealer, can I use the dealer temporary or drive away permit to haul a load?
08/06/2013 2:23 PM No, that is not permitted.
Why are you suspending my weight-distance tax E-Permits?
08/06/2013 2:23 PM If a quarterly weight distance tax report has not been submitted, the system will not allow the weight-distance E-permit to be processed.
What am I required to have when I cross the State of New Mexico?
08/06/2013 2:22 PM Out-of-state carriers are required to have in their possession: Current IRP registration from their base state listing New Mexico or a valid trip permit from the Port of Entry IFTA license and decals (a decal on the drivers side and one on the...
What is a 2290?
08/06/2013 2:21 PM IRS Form 2290 is a Heavy Vehicle Use Tax imposed by the Federal Government on any vehicle 55,000 lbs. and over. This tax should be paid at a local IRS office to expedite your registration process.
What is Authority?
08/06/2013 2:21 PM Permission for companies that operate as for- hire carriers (for a fee or other compensation) that transport commerce, or arrange for their transport, within the borders of New Mexico.
What is a Warrant?
08/06/2013 2:19 PM Authority issued by the State of New Mexico Public Regulations Commission to allow for- hire carriers to haul property from point to point in the state of New Mexico. The following are required to have a Warrant: Escort Services General Commodities...
How do I register a commercial vehicle in New Mexico?
08/06/2013 2:14 PM A. Based Interstate Carriers Carriers that cross state lines - Vehicle must be titled in New Mexico. This can be done at any MVD Field Office. Carrier must submit the receipted IRS Form 2290 with appropriate weight category code. This applies only...
What is a Medical Waiver (medical exemption)?
06/08/2022 The FMCSA grants medical exemption/waivers to commercial motor vehicle drivers, that are hearing impaired. Get applications for these waivers please visit the FMCSA Driver Exemption Programs page
Am I able to receive a Medical Waiver (medical exemption) if I have epilepsy?
08/06/2013 2:10 PM No.The FMCSA and the State of New Mexico do not issue waivers for drivers with epilepsy, a history of epilepsy, or who are taking anti- seizure medication. You can receive a New Mexico CDL if you are off anti- seizure medication and have been...
If I have heart disease, can I be certified for 2 years?
08/06/2013 2:10 PM No, per Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) recommendations, New Mexico certifies only one year at time.
If my hypertension is controlled with medication, can I be certified for 2 years?
08/06/2013 2:09 PM No, per Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) recommendations, New Mexico certifies only one year at time.
If my diabetes is controlled with oral medication, can I be certified for 2 years?
08/06/2013 2:08 PM No, per Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) recommendations, New Mexico certifies only one year at time.
What is a DOT physical and why is it important?
08/06/2013 2:08 PM A DOT physical is a medical examination of a commercial driver performed by a licensed medical examiner. It ensures that a person is medically qualified to safely operate a commercial motor vehicle.
If my Medical Examiner’s Certificate is damaged, lost or becomes unreadable, can I use a copy or do I have to get an original?
08/06/2013 2:06 PM The New Mexico MVD only accepts an original Medical Examination Certification from the driver. The MVD will accept either a faxed copy of the Medical Examination Certification Form from the Medical Examiner/Physician that performed your examination...
What are Private MVD Offices?
08/06/2013 2:05 PM Private MVD Offices have a contract with the State MVD to provide MVD services to the public. Private MVD Offices charge administrative fees, in addition to any MVD fees that apply to your transactions.
What do I need to bring to verify my name change to get my license?
08/06/2013 2:04 PM Any of the following documents may be accepted to verify a customer's name change on a New Mexico driver license or identification card: Marriage license Court order Divorce decree Birth certificate (for name corrections, only)
What tests do I need to take for the class of CDL I will be obtaining?
06/08/2022 The written tests required for each class of CDL are as follows: Class A license- general knowledge, airbrakes and combination Class B license- general knowledge and airbrakes Class C license- general knowledge. (The class C license is only valid with and H...
Is the CDL manual available online?
08/06/2013 2:01 PM Yes, please read the New Mexico specific addendum | Download PDFDownload the CDL Manual | Download PDF
Can a Hazmat background check be transferred from another state to New Mexico?
06/08/2022 2:00 PM Yes, as long as the TSA background check can be verified, and the driver takes the Hazardous Materials Knowledge test before the CDL is issued in New Mexico.
My CDL is expired. Do I need to take the tests again?
03/17/2022 2:00 PM If you have a New Mexico CDL and it has been expired for less than a year, you do not need to retest. If your New Mexico CDL has been expired for more than a year and less than five years, you will need to the knowledge tests. If the New Mexico CDL...
Can a driver transfer a commercial driver license permit from another state?
08/06/2013 1:57 PM Learner’s permits are not transferable from state-to-state. You must obtain a CDL license from the state you received your learner’s permit, or start the CDL application process over again in this state.
What is the fee for a commercial driver’s license?
03/17/2022 1:55 PM The fee is $18.00 for a four- year license or $34.00 for an eight- year license. Drivers who are 79 years old or older must renew their licenses yearly, but they are not charged renewal fees. State law now requires a DWI records check on all drivers...
What documents do I need to take to the MVD Vehicle Division Field Office to get a New Mexico CDL?
06/08/2022 12:41 PM You will need to take the originals of all these required documents: Commercial Medical Examiner’s Certificate And/or Federal Medical Waiver Card Proof of employment by a government entity Additional information clarifying each of these required...
What are the requirements to get a New Mexico commercial driver license (CDL)?
06/08/2022 A non- commercial (regular, Class D) New Mexico driver license or a valid out- of- state CDL is required to get a New Mexico commercial driver license (CDL). At the MVD office you must: Pass the written test(s) pertaining to the class of CDL and any...
About The National Driver Register
08/06/2013 1:15 PM The National Driver Register (NDR) is a computerized database of information about drivers who have had their licenses revoked or suspended, or who have been convicted of serious traffic violations, such as driving while impaired by alcohol or...
How can I find out if I am listed in NDR?
08/06/2013 1:13 PM You are entitled, under the provisions of the Privacy Act, to request a file search to see if you have a record on the NDR. As a private citizen, you must send a notarized letter commonly referred to as a “privacy act request” to the NDR indicating...
Who is legally authorized to receive information from the NDR?
08/06/2013 1:12 PM Any individual under the provisions of the Privacy Act State and federal driver's license officials Current or prospective employers of motor vehicles operators Air Carriers for Pilot Applicants The Federal Railroad Administration and employers of...