- Maps & Locations
- Location Events & Closings
- Contact Us
- MVD Procedure Manuals
- Online Services
- Vehicle Registration
- License Plates
- Emission Testing
- Boats & ATVs
- Vehicle Definitions
- Parking Placards
- Driver’s Licenses / ID’s
- REAL ID INFO
- Driving Credentials
- Apply for a Learner’s Permit
- Apply for a New Driving Credential
- Renew a Driving Credential
- Replace a Lost or Stolen Driving Credential
- Reinstate a Suspended License
- Where’s My License?
- List of Acceptable Documents for Real ID Issuance
- List of Acceptable Documents for Standard Driver’s License
- ID Cards
- Change Your Address
- DWI Information
- Drivers Forms
- Report Fraud
- Resources, Forms & Information
- Dealers / Recycle / Partners
- Record Request Services
Renew a Vehicle Registration
There are 3 ways to renew a vehicle registration.
You will receive up to a 5% discount if you use method 1
Method 1 – Renew Vehicle Registration Online
Take advantage of receiving a discount on your registration renewal fees by renewing online.
You will need to have the following information ready:
- Control Number (shown on reminder renewal postcard), or
- License Plate Number and VIN of Vehicle (last six characters only)
- Credit card information – You can pay your registration renewal fees using either a MasterCard, Visa, American Express, or Discover credit card.
Method 2 – Mail in your New Mexico MVD Registration Renewal Form
Mail-in the registration renewal form that you receive from the New Mexico MVD along with a check for either a one-year renewal or a two-year renewal. A check should be made payable to the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division. Do not send cash or credit card information.
Send payment to:
Registration Renewal Section
Motor Vehicle Division
PO BOX 25129
Santa Fe, NM 87504-5129
Method 3 – Visit a New Mexico MVD Field Office
Take your current registration information to an MVD Field Office. Be prepared to provide payment for a one-year or a two-year renewal. The MVD Field Office can accept payment with cash or a check.
Bernalillo County Residents Only – Emission Certificate Information
If you are a Bernalillo County resident and are renewing your vehicle registration, the system will automatically check the air care database for compliance when using the online programs.
Mail in customers-You do not need to include the air care certificate, MVD uses an electronic interface with air care to validate emissions compliance.
Late Registration Renewal
Within 30 Days – If you are less than 31 days late in renewing your vehicle registration, you must pay a $10.00 penalty, along with the cost of your registration renewal fee.
More than 30 Days Late – If you are 31 days or more late in renewing your vehicle registration, you must pay a penalty equal to 75% of the registration fee. This penalty is added to the cost of your registration renewal fee.
IMPORTANT – Banks and other institutions may offer online services (often called BillPay) that indicate you can conduct MVD business. However, these services are not integrated with MVD and therefore, are not valid for this type of payment. Use only the online services offered on this web site or your transaction cannot be processed.
Details for up to 5% discount for vehicle renewal registrations using online renewal.
Method 1 – If you renew your vehicle registration using the online service, you will receive a 5% discount on your base registration fee. However, due to current contractual obligations with our credit card vendor, MVD must charge a credit card fee of $1.55 if under $275 and 1.99% fee if over $275. Therefore, your total net discount will be less than 5% depending on the total cost of your vehicle registration renewal. For example:
- Registration cost = $60
- 5% discount = $3
- Add credit card fee = $1.55
- Total discount = $1.45