- Maps & Locations
- Location Events & Closings
- Contact Us
- MVD Procedure Manuals
- Online Services
- Vehicle Registration
- License Plates
- Emission Testing
- Boats & ATVs
- Vehicle Definitions
- Parking Placards
- Driver’s Licenses / ID’s
- REAL ID INFO
- Driving Credentials
- Apply for a Learner’s Permit
- Apply for a New Driving Credential
- Renew a Driving Credential
- Replace a Lost or Stolen Driving Credential
- Reinstate a Suspended License
- Where’s My License?
- List of Acceptable Documents for Real ID Issuance
- List of Acceptable Documents for Standard Driver’s License
- ID Cards
- Change Your Address
- DWI Information
- Drivers Forms
- Report Fraud
- Resources, Forms & Information
- Pay Taxes / WD permits
- Dealers / Recycle / Partners
- Record Request Services
Frequently Asked Questions
Take the following documentation to any MVD Field Office: The current title or other ownership document(s) for the vehicle; The vehicle’s current odometer reading; Proof of identity and two proofs of New Mexico residency Proof of Identity - No SSN Proof of insurance,...
The registration fee for passenger vehicles is based on the weight and year model of the vehicle. Registration fees range from $27.00 to $62.00 for a one (1) year registration or $54.00 to $124.00 for a two (2) year registration. Registration fees for trucks with a...
Yes. If you are less than 31 days late in renewing your vehicle registration, you must pay a $10.00 penalty, along with the cost of your registration renewal fee. If you are 31 days or more late in renewing your vehicle registration, you must pay a penalty equal to...
only What is Real ID? The Real ID Act was passed by the Congress and signed into law on May 11, 2005 by former President George Bush. The Real ID Act provides that, after a certain date, a federal agency is prohibited from accepting for any “official purpose,” a...
Yes. Go to MVD Online Services Online services include: Renew a Vehicle Registration with All Major Credit Cards Obtain a Commercial Driver Weight-Distance Permit (Single Filing or Bulk Filing) File a Commercial Vehicle Weight-Distance Tax Return (Single...
Click here to check the status of your license.
Once you have established residency in New Mexico, you are required to surrender to MVD your license from any other state and apply for a New Mexico license.
If you are a first-time New Mexico licensee, aged 18 to 24, you are required to take the "None for the Road" self-study DWI Awareness Class. Once you complete the None for the Road class, take your certificate of completion and other required identification to any MVD...
Persons 25 years of age and older who have ever been convicted of DWI, and who are applying for their first New Mexico driver license, must also submit evidence of having successfully completed an approved DWI prevention and education program, such as None for the...
Register for None for the Road Online The None for the Road class is administered by the University of New Mexico Continuing Education, not by the MVD. Information about the class and a class application are available online or by calling (505) 277-0051 (Albuquerque...
What should I take with me to the Motor Vehicle Division Field Office to get my first New Mexico driver license?
To obtain a non-commercial driver license or identification card you will need to provide: one (1) proof of identification number, one (1) proof of identity, and two (2) proofs or New Mexico residency. Proof of Identification Number – No SSN and Proof of Identity – No...
Eye Test - Persons with a current driver license from another state, or those applying for a first-time New Mexico driver license, are required to pass an eye exam. Written Test- Persons applying for a first-time New Mexico driver license, or those with licenses...
The fee is $18.00 for a four-year license or $34.00 for an eight-year license. Drivers who are 79 years old or older must renew their licenses yearly, but they are not charged renewal fees. State law now requires a DWI records check on all drivers moving to New Mexico...
Applicants requesting a name change when applying for a non-commercial license, a commercial license, a provisional license, a permit or an identification card must present proof of the name change. The documents presented must be the original or certified copies. The...
Yes, if you are renewing a license that expired before November 15, 2016 or if you are going to a REAL ID from a non REAL ID. No, if you are renewing the same type of license (REAL ID or Non REAL ID) and it was issued after November 15,2016, but you must surrender...
Many New Mexico drivers have received 'guilty deferred' sentences for traffic violations. A "deferred" sentence is one for which drivers must satisfy conditions as established by a Court - such as attending driving school, community service, a 90-day probation period...
Obtain your own driver history record any time you would like: Get a copy online
If your driving record shows that you received a sentence for a traffic violation within the last three years, and you think it was "deferred" by the Court, then MVD staff will research your record and respond back to you within 48 hours. MVD staff will need to...
Private MVD Offices have a contract with the State MVD to provide MVD services to the public. Private MVD Offices charge administrative fees, in addition to any MVD fees that apply to your transactions.