1. Home
  2. Resources
  3. Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Search Posts

Does New Mexico require emissions testing?

Emission Testing is required only in Bernalillo County. Residents of the Bernalillo County and others who commute into Bernalillo County 60 or more days per year are required to have their vehicles tested and to provide proof that the vehicles have passed an emissions...

What are Private MVD Offices?

Private MVD Offices have a contract with the State MVD to provide MVD services to the public. Private MVD Offices charge administrative fees,  in addition to any MVD fees that apply to your transactions. 

What is the fee for a commercial driver’s license?

The fee is $18.00 for a four- year license or $34.00 for an eight- year license. Drivers who are 75 years old or older must renew their licenses yearly, but they are not charged renewal fees. State law now requires a DWI records check on all drivers moving to New...

My CDL is expired. Do I need to take the tests again?

If you have a New Mexico CDL and it has been expired for less than a year, you do not need to retest. If your New Mexico CDL has been expired for more than a year, you will need to retest on both the knowledge and skills tests. If you have an out- of- state CDL,...

What is a DOT physical and why is it important?

A DOT physical is a medical examination of a commercial driver performed by a licensed medical examiner. It ensures that a person is medically qualified to safely operate a commercial motor vehicle.